Standing for Freedom

Posted: June 14, 2014 in Military, Never Forget
Tags: , ,

imageThere are at least three songs and videos by Mike Corrado that I want to share. Last week I shared his song and video called Still in the Fight. This week, I want to share the second one called Stand, a tribute to those who stand for freedom and for those who stood before them.

I’m not one to watch music videos anymore but I love watching the ones for Mike’s songs. He honors those who’ve served and continue to serve in ways that touch my heart. I hope this song and video touch your heart as well.

Stand (lyrics)

Some signed up first chance they could at 17
Had their mammas sign the papers so they could leave
And on the bus ride out of town
The families gathered ‘ round an waive as they’d leave

And they come from the shores of Carolina
Through the plains to the hills of California
With a hunger deep inside
And a burning desire to be free

And they stand, stand upon that wall
And they stand, stand up for us all
And they stand, for the one’s who’ve gone before, they stand

Everyone wants to be the hero
But some don’t want to pay the price
If you think living free comes easy
Just ask those who’ve sacrificed

As they’d stand, for the chance to believe
Stand, so we can be anything we want to be
Stand, so our children can be free, they’d stand

There’s a time to fight and a time to fold
And giving in are words they’ve never known

So they stand, stand upon that wall
They stand, stand up for us all
They stand, for the one’s who’ve gone before, they stand

And we stand, for the chance to believe
Stand, so we can be anything we want to be
And we stand, so our children can be free, we stand

We say prayers for those no longer with us,
& the families who stand behind those who protect us
And on that bus ride back to town
everyone gathers ‘round for those who stand
(Lyrics provided by onlylyrics.com)

Video link to be provided soon.

Soldier on…

Comments
  1. ron0540 says:

    So, I found your blog, and I’ve got to say, Your use of “Songs” and “Music” to emphasize Your point, I really like. I really don’t think there is an emotion, a situation, a personal plea, well, anything about anything that can’t be found in music that You and “Soundhound” have put to very good use. So, now I’m going to read a little about you in your “All About the Fury”. I hope you take that as a compliment, because thats how I mean it. I’ve found your post very interesting, and your love of country is that quality that I really respect.
    Keep up the good work. Hope we can exchange some thoughts and ideas as two former Air Force Brat’s know how to do. Never saw the “Political Spectrum Quiz” before, so I’ll need to put that on my todo list. I think I know my view on a scale, but it will be interesting to see. Did you come close to how you viewed yourself?
    Until next time.
    Thank You Jai,
    ron Lambertson.

Leave a Reply

